Signiant Support

Unable to preserve the original copy of 'Thumbs.db': Permission denied Print


Symptoms:

Transfers fail with the following message in the logs:
Unable to preserve the original copy of 'Thumbs.db': Permission denied

Resolution:

Thumbs.db is an image cache which makes thumbnail viewing faster. The file is automatically created in Windows Vista, 7 and 8 whenever images are encountered in a folder. It is usually hidden but can appear, disappear and is often impossible to delete.
Any time thumbnails view is enabled or has been enabled in Microsoft Windows the hidden file thumbs.db is automatically created in the same directory in which the thumbnails have been viewed. This file contains the information required by Windows to display the thumbnails for each of the icons and will be placed in every folder thumbnails are viewed.  The file is particular to the machine on which it was created.
Most of the time this file isn't necessary to transfer this file, as the target host will recreate the file for its own use when needed.  In fact, the problem occurs because the target host has the file actively open.  As such, you can safely exclude the thumbs.db file from the Signiant transfers when you encounter this error.

Applies To:

Signiant Transfers on Windows platforms, all versions.