Signiant Support

Managing Storage Servers Print


Use this FAQ to find answers to common questions about managing and using Media Shuttle and portals.
To learn more about configuring and using Media Shuttle, read the Media Shuttle Configuration Console Guide.    

How to automatically remove old files from a send portal

Is it possible to have multiple Configuration Console accounts?

In the Configuration Console, can I edit the portal name and URL?

How to create a portal that expires

How to delete a portal created in the Configuration Console

What happens when I assign a new storage server to my portal?

How to remove a storage server

How to control the transfer speed for a portal


How to automatically remove old files from a send portal

During the Send portal creation and configuration steps, configure the Remove files older than option to ensure that old content is removed.
  1. Click Storage and enable Remove files older than.
  2. Edit the value to be between 1 and 365 days.
Users are alerted when their content will no longer be available on the portal. For example, a value of 30 days means if a file was uploaded on Oct. 1, it will not be available on Oct. 31.

Note: this setting is not available for Share or Submit portals.

Is it possible to have multiple Configuration Console accounts?

Yes, you can have multiple Configuration Console accounts. After logging into Configuration Console, you're prompted to select the account you want to use.

In the Configuration Console, can I edit the portal name and URL?

Yes, on the General page, you can edit both the Portal name and URL. Here are a few things to think about when naming your portal and defining the URL:
  • The portal name is displayed in the portal drop-down menu and in the title bar of the Media Shuttle transfer window. The portal name cannot exceed 1000 characters. (If you're using a trial portal, you cannot edit the portal name.)
  • The full URL for your portal is: yourURLprefix.mediashuttle.com. This is the Internet address your users will use to access Media Shuttle to transfer files. The URL prefix cannot exceed 63 characters, must contain only alphanumeric characters and cannot start or end with a dash (-). (If you're using a trial portal, you cannot edit the URL.)
Remember to click Save changes after making any changes.

How to create a portal that expires

By default, your new portal is configured to not expire, but you can easily change this.

On the General page you'll see the Expiry date option and that This portal does not expire is enabled. To set the expiry date, deselect This portal does not expire and use the calendar to select your expiry date.

Remember to click Save changes to save your new expiry date setting.

How to delete a portal created in the Configuration Console

On the General page, click Delete This Portal and when prompted, click Delete.

What happens when I assign a new storage server to my portal?

To assign a new storage server to your portal, you first need to unassign the active storage server. Once you've unassigned the storage server, select a new storage server and click Assign.

Now that you've assigned a new storage server, you have to decide if you want all the previously added or uploaded content to the previous storage server to still available. To be available, all previously uploaded or added content must be manually moved to this new storage server. When this is done, portal users can access this content.

How to remove a storage server

It's important to note that when you remove a storage server, any portals using this storage server are no longer available for transfers.

To remove a storage server, do the following:
  1. In the Configuration Console, select Storage.
  2. On the Storage page, highlight the storage server you want to remove, click the options button and select Remove.
  3. Click Remove and unassign to confirm removal of the storage server. The storage server is no longer displayed in the configuration console.
  4. Click Save Changes.

How to control the transfer speed for a portal

By default the transfer speed for your portal is set to unlimited. To set specific transfer speeds, do the following:
  1. In the Configuration Console, select Storage.
  2. To specify the Upload speed, deselect Unlimited, type the speed and select one of Kbps, Mbps, or Gbps.
  3. To specify the Download speed, deselect Unlimited, type the speed and select one of Kbps, Mbps, or Gbps.
  4. Click Save changes.
Note: the download setting is not available for Submit portals.