Signiant Support

Send From Share Print


Use this FAQ to find answers about Send From Share functionality

What is the primary benefit of Send from Share?
Who does this feature benefit?
Which version of the cloud managed server do I need to use this feature?
Are there any other changes with this new feature?
Does the Media Shuttle IT admin need to do anything to make this feature work for my account?
Does the Media Shuttle Ops admin (portal admin) need to do anything to allow users to Send from Share?
Does the download link expire?
When a user is automatically added via a SAML logon what rights does the user get?
What do people who have Send rights see in the Share portal interface?
What do recipients see?
What rights does a recipient who is added to this portal get?
How is a download of this share portal link recorded?
When I click Send I see the following error: Send from Share is not enabled.  What does this mean and what do I need to do?
What is the primary benefit of Send from Share?
It enables people to send links to files from share portals without requiring a recipient to login to the share portal.
 
Who does this feature benefit?
People who frequently distribute content that is already available on shared storage (i.e., not on their personal systems).
 
Which version of the cloud managed server do I need to use this feature?
Version 1.8 and higher.

Are there any other changes with this new feature?
Yes, there are two other changes:
  1. The sender can now send a message of up to 10,000 characters.
  2. Members with no permissions can no longer log in to the portal.
Does the Media Shuttle IT admin need to do anything to make this feature work for my account?
Yes, the person with the IT role (i.e., the person who has access to manage.mediashuttle.com) needs to update the portal security to allow unauthenticated downloads.
On the General page, enable Send from Share (unauthenticated downloads).

 
 
Does the Media Shuttle Ops admin (portal admin) need to do anything to allow users to Send from Share?
For existing users, the Ops admin needs to add the new permission to their account. To do this, the admin enables Send from Share and saves the change.


 
 
By default, new users have the Send from Share permission enabled.


Does the download link expire?
This depends on how Download Link Expiry is configured in the Media Shuttle Management Console. By default, the shared link is set to download After first download. This expiry period can be changed to: 30 days, 60 days, 90 days, or No expiry.

A message showing the expiry period is displayed to your members on the Media Shuttle end-user portal interface. For example, when the Download link expiry is set to No expiry, the following message is displayed: This content does not expire.

 
When a user is automatically added via a SAML logon what rights does the user get?
These users have all the previously existing rights (except for Auto Delivery), plus Send from Share.


 
 What do people who have Send rights see in the Share portal interface?
These users see the following:


 
 
What do recipients see?
Recipients have an experience very similar to a Send portal recipient.
 
 
 

 
What rights does a recipient who is added to this portal get?
They get no rights (except to download links that are sent to them). They have no explicit rights on the portal itself and cannot logon (unless a portal administrator elevates their privilege).


 
How is a download of this share portal link recorded?
This type of download is recorded as a download event against that recipient. The File Activity displays the Download record against the recipient.


 

 
 
When I click Send I see the following error: Send from Share is not enabled.  What does this mean and what do I need to do?
When the feature is not enabled on the Portal, users see:


 
When this error message is displayed it means the feature is not enabled on the portal for the member. Users can use the Contact Admin option on the Share Portal and request that the admin enable access to Send content.

Article ID 2443321